Michael E.'s review of Package Data Services, Inc.

Package Data Services, Inc.

Preferred Members
PeopleG2 Background Checks
5.0 star rating 0 miles
Mexican Insurance Store.com
5.0 star rating 0 miles
Capital Gold Group, Inc.
4.7 star rating 0 miles Hot Deals
Pricesmile.com
0.0 star rating 0 miles
         
Customer Reviews & Ratings
Complaint Posted 3/30/2010
. 1
. 0
Review 3/30/2010
During January 2010 my company received a package containing 4 cartons of printer ribbon for several old impact printers from Package Data Services with an invoice which did not specify the price. Thinking nothing of it, the employee who they were shipped to placed them into our inventory. About 40 days later we received an invoice for the product described above for nearly five times the normal price from a local reputable vendor.

I called and spoke with Naomi at Package Data Services who informed me her records indicated *name withheld* ordered the product. I spoke with *name withheld* who told me she did not order the product but received a call confirming our shipping address.

On February 22, 2010 I investigated with the BBB and FTC on our options (since the invoice stated the return period for the product had expired). Both agencies advised me not to pay the fraudulent invoice and that we could place the product into use as it was unsolicited. At this point (February 25, 2010) I mailed a letter to Package Data Services advising them that we would not be paying for the unsolicited product and that they should only contact my company via mail only to negotiate collection.

On March 25, 2010 I received a phone call from a Mr. Matur (not sure on spelling, he was hard to understand) who wanted to confirm when payment would be sent. I told him he could refer to the letter dated February 25, 2010 stating we would not be paying for the product and that him contacting me via telephone in an attempt to collect payment was illegal. Mr. Matur immediately offered a 10% discount on the product. I informed him that his terms were still unacceptable and that unless he documentation showing that *name withheld* had ordered the product that we would not be paying the invoice.

On March 29, 2010 I received another telephone call from Grand Mulford (the company owner) who stated he had documentation showing *name withheld* had placed the order. He played a recording to me over the phone where *name withheld* confirmed my companies shipping address and that she was the person who the product could be shipped to. No where in the conversation did *name withheld* request the received product. I told Mr. Mulford that she did not order the product and his recording confirmed that.

On March 30, 2010 I received another call from Mr. Matur wanting to negotiate payment again. I told him we had no intention of paying for the fraudulent invoice. After talking for several minutes I agreed to return the product to Package Data Services only to get them off of our back. In the return shipment I included a letter stating that Package Data Services is not to send any additional product ever and that additional product sent to us will not be paid for. In the letter I reiterated that Package Data Services was not to contact my company via any medium except mail.
 
 
Business's response - by Grant M.on 11/8/2010
PDS is a company that exclusively sells to purchasing agents of other businesses. We sell thousands of products for hundreds of different business machines, and pride ourselves on personal customer service and the ability to provide hard-to-find items. Our salespersons are required to establish customer relations by contacting only those individuals within an organization who are responsible for authorizing purchases of these products. Every sales order is carefully verified and tape-recorded. The purchase price is clearly stated. Each and every customer is asked if a purchase order number is required, and if they are the final authority for making the buying decision. No order is shipped without a clear affirmative response. [A written Order Confirmation is then faxed to the customer, containing product price and company terms, allowing review of the order prior to shipment.] It is not the responsibility of PDS in any way to determine the Veracity or validity of any customer's claims of purchasing authority; this is far beyond the legal purview of PDS. If an employee of a company knowingly or unknowingly makes a false claim of purchasing authority, determination of such rests with the company's administration and does not constitute justification for refusing to pay for merchandise. In the event of customer dissatifaction, PDS will provide credit for merchandise returns in accordance with our terms, which are described on our Order Confirmation, Packing Slips, and Invoices.
 
Was this review helpful? (28)
Send Message to Reviewer
Report abuse
 
Additional Business Information
Hours   Monday - Friday 7:00am-1:00pm Phone   (800) 320-1299 Address   16735 Saticoy, Suite 101
Van Nuys, CA 91406
Website   http://www.packagedata.com Email   mail@packagedata.com
Contact   Grant Mulford Other  
 
 
 
© Copyright 2017 TrustLink All Rights Reserved.