Rosemary L.'s review of The Kitchen Connection

The Kitchen Connection

Preferred Members
Buildnet Corp
3.7 star rating 968 miles
Apache West Homes & Construction
1313 miles
PROgressive AMenities, Inc.
1338 miles
Triple E Construction
1342 miles
Customer Reviews & Ratings
Complaint Posted 3/29/2010
. 1
. 0
Review 3/29/2010
We hired the Kitchen Connection to install new custom cabinets in our kitchen in 2007 and three years later, we continue to have problems. The project that was quoted to take 2 weeks to install took 18 weeks to complete. The project began in February and install began on April 1, 2007. We made several attempts to involve the company owner, Chuck Hendrickson in helping us resolve the ongoing problems with the cabinet install, but he was unresponsive. He wouldn't return calls or emails. We involved the BBB and the company ignored their attempts to assist in resolving the problems. We contacted the Contractors State License Board (CLSB) and the company responded that the job had been completed and the customers were happy, which was not true. There were major, irreversible errors made on our kitchen cabinets and we've lived with these errors since the install was completed. We settled our issues with the Kitchen Connection in January 2008. In the spring of 2009 we began seeing a powdery substance on one of the kitchen counters. Then we started seeing tiny holes in the cabinets where the powder was falling from. We had 4 exterminators provide us with an assessment of the problem. All four said there were Powder Post Beetles in the cabinets and the only way to eliminate this pest was to fumigate the house. There is no topical treatment for this wood eating pest. We contacted the Kitchen Connection many times and again waited and waited for a response. We also involved the Contractor's State License board again. The Kitchen Connection called us ONLY after they had been contacted by the CSLB. The owner, Chuck said he was sending out another pest control company to get another opinion. (4 reputable companies were not enough!) The guy who came to the house was from Heavenbound Exterminators. I'd never heard of this company, so I tried locating information on them online. Didn't find anything. I asked the person if he was a licensed exterminator and he said yes, but not licensed to treat for termites or other wood eating insects. He confided in me he was only at my home to get the $200 dollars he was charging the Kitchen Connection to do the inspection. About a week later I contacted Chuck with the Kitchen Connection to advise that he had sent an unlicensed exterminator to my home who was only out to collect some money. Chuck said he thought he was licensed. Chuck refused to do anything about the problem and said he felt the Powder Post Beetles were gone. He said, "I'm not going anywhere, if they come back, call me." Well, they have returned and now our cabinet is looking more and more like swiss cheese. Our greatest investment, our home, is at risk of total infestation by this wood eating pest introduced by The Kitchen Connection's cabinets. We've emailed and called Chuck several times with no response. This company is horrible. They have no regard for their customers. They do terrible work and then leave you with a tail light warranty. We've never received any documentation from the company on what type of warranty we have with the cabinets or workmanship, but we've asked for it on several occasions. I'm amazed this company is still in business.
Was this review helpful? (4)
Send Message to Reviewer
Report abuse
How To edit your review
Additional Business Information
Hours   Phone   (310) 715-6301 Address   20969 Cabot Blvd
Hayward, CA 94545
Website Email  
Contact   George Steinkamp Other  
© Copyright 2017 TrustLink All Rights Reserved.